2 0 1 5

It’s 9:06 p.m. CST, and I’m sitting in Dallas/Fort Worth after two flight delays, a projected arrival time in Indy of 1:30 a.m., and in the midst of fighting off the urge to hit up Cerality (a cereal bar with every sugary cereal imaginable, including the option to mix and match ‘em.) Not easy for a girl who could literally live off Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Golden Grahams and Raisin Bran.

So, now I think, is a good time to get my goals on the record for 2015. I dislike the idea that with the advent of January, we need to reinvent ourselves to pursue a totally new person. To me, there’s so much more sense in pursuing a healthy, sustainable and enjoyable ethos for as much of the year as possible – and that includes both treating yourself and pushing yourself in a continuous and harmonious cycle. However, I do believe that goals should be constantly re-evaluated. The fundamentals by which you live your life should be visited often. If you’re not practicing them daily and making them a habit, they may as well not exist. That’s a lesson I took from a chapter in golf legend Gary Player’s book, Don’t Choke. Call them resolutions, call them goals, it matters not. Some specific, others I’ll tweak as I go… Some a continuation of things I’ve already been working on and others a result of reflection.

So, 2015, coming at ya:

  • LIVE your Gary Player “rules”
  • Don’t skip Mass on Sunday
  • Pursue fitness and nutrition in the form of a part-time career, but don’t rush it
  • Volunteer at the Patachou Foundation
  • Be more mindful of spending, especially online
  • Commit to more acts of kindness (planned and unplanned)
  • Be cheerful, especially when you don’t feel like it
  • Impact Sara and Caleb
  • Practice a balanced life…

I’ll touch on a few of them in greater detail, starting with the first bullet point. They are a set of rules I set for myself.

  1. True success is judged by your relationship with fellow human beings.
  2. Love the magic of ordinary days.
  3. Trust instinct to the end, though you cannot render any reason.
  4. Everything in business is negotiable except quality.
  5. There is no substitute for personal contact.
  6. Sleep on a proposed act of retaliation.
  7. A promise made is a debt incurred.
  8. Confidence breeds humility.
  9. Complacency breeds choking.
  10. Learn from everyone; judge no one.
  11. Have patience and respect for your parents.
  12. Don’t save what is left after spending; spend what is left after saving.
  13. Accept advice of those who love you, though you like it not at present.
  14. The quality of your adversaries says a lot about you as a competitor.
  15. A resiliency to failure is actually to love getting in the hunt and finding out if you can pass the test.
  16. “This too shall pass.”
  17. Constantly re-evaluate your fundamentals.

I have these in a Word doc titled “Rules” where they’re typed out just as above and are saved to my Desktop for easy access.

Next up is balance. A big one for me. Everyone’s different, but for me Colin Wright hit the nail on the head when he asserted:

 “Extremes are easy. Strive for balance.”

I’m by nature an all-or-nothing person. It’s benefited me in that I will stop at nothing to achieve my goals. It’s also hindered me in that sometimes I lose sight of what’s important along the way. I want to truly choose what’s hard FOR ME, not what’s considered hard by “normal” standards. Because, staying in on a Friday night to get more work done is a no-brainer for me. What’s hard is not stressing about having healthy options in front of me at a restaurant. Imperfectly perfect. Give and take. Let it go. I’m returning to Indy after an awesome week of work in San Antonio. I love my job and that’s one of the many things I’m grateful for in my life. I’ve learned recently that when I go on vacation, I don’t dread it ending in the slightest because I’m chomping at the bit to get back to my day-to-day life. So, despite this hectic and longgg day of travel, I’m going to choose cheerfulness (See bullet point No.6). Cheesy, maybe, but it feels right.

xx

ALH

IMG_2521-670x670

 

Leave a Reply

