Two tricks to get more avo in your diet

Confession: I don’t like the taste of avocado. I know, who (especially in the nutrition/fitness industry) doesn’t like this green healthy fat?! I just can’t get myself to adopt to the taste.

But avocado is so good for you and provides potassium (twice as much as a banana), 4 g protein, just .2 g of sugar, and 11 g of fiber. Plus three-fourths of cals in an avo are made up of healthy fats.

For those reasons I searched for other ways besides some avo on my toast in the a.m. to get its nutrients. It’s amazing how easy avocado is to disguise in recipes, especially when it comes to baking and juicing. It has the perfect creamy texture to substitute for butter, mayo and even bananas when you want to go low-sugar.

Here are my two favorite ways to eat avocado. The first could be a dessert it’s that good! I know there are few chocolate-avocado mousse recipes floating around out there, but I kept experimenting with my own ingredients until I thought I perfected it.

photo

1. Chocolate-avocado mousse

– 2 ripe avocados

– 1/2 cup creamed coconut, chilled

– 1/4 cup cocao powder

– 1 tsp liquid stevia drops or brown rice malt syrup (honey or granulated stevia works too)

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 tsp ground cinnamon

– pinch of salt

– cacao nibs, cinnamon chips, berries for topping (optional)

Blend all the ingredients except for the nibs until you have a creamy mixture. Refrigerate for at least an hour and a half before eating (This makes a big difference!). Enjoy!

2. Avocado cupcakes with avocado orange buttercream icing

These cupcakes are seriously amazing. They come from Laura Lea, a chef based out of Nashville. I have yet to try out a recipe of hers that I don’t become obsessed with.

photo 3

Here’s the link to these cupcakes. Trust me, you don’t need to tweak a thing. However, I used brown rice malt syrup instead of maple syrup because Sarah Wilson is pretty dang convincing.

***I do like guac, but haven’t found a homemade recipe that disguises the avocado enough haha. My attempt at making Chipotle’s just doesn’t taste the same! Try the recipe yourself here.

xx

ALH

One thought on “Two tricks to get more avo in your diet

  1. Pingback: Focus Friday | phenomenal today

Leave a Reply

