Focus Friday

It’s Friday already? This week has flown by! I was in Raleigh (home) last weekend for my brother’s college graduation. It was great seeing so much family and so many friends.

IMG_6433

IMG_6423

IMG_6368

IMG_6406

IMG_6436

Last but not least, a home-cooked meal Carolina style: poppyseed bread that melts in your mouth, honey-baked ham, butter beans, deviled eggs, berries, steak and chicken

But back in Indy, I am going to a hot yoga class on Sunday, and while I don’t always agree with the literal wording that yoga teaches, I am an advocate of turning the often eloquent and spiritual inspiration into something that I can parallel with my own religious beliefs. I take yoga for what it is! I believe it’s important to incorporate a form of exercise into your routine where you don’t feel the need to push yourself to the point of exhaustion. Even if it’s only once week, I love going to the yoga studio. It’s a totally different experience from my rigorous strength training. For a competitive person, who pushes herself hard to excel in everything she commits herself to, it’s a lovely change of pace to embrace being an amateur at something!

Lovely links:

Adore this Aussie nutritionist! I think (as girls especially) this post from Jessica Sepel is so important and relatable. Who hasn’t struggled with this one way or another? For me, points No. 4, 6, 8 and 10 resonate strongly.

Along the same lines as the aforementioned link: Food shame: The Morality of Eating  —> thought-provoking read!

xx

ALH

Leave a Reply

